Internet Research

RuGeeks company is doing Internet research in the regions of its presence, based on actual statistics of CDN traffic delivery through its networking nodes.

 

In the process of GIX routers and nodes operation GIX we  accumulate a large set of statistics about consumption and transmission of various data and content, including static website pages, software and games downloads, video-on-demand (VOD) watching and live TV streaming in the Internet.

 

Not violating privacy of end consumers, collected data sets are aggregated by Big Data algorithms, along with fuzzy sets theory and applied methods of "soft statistics".

 

Current statistical data gathered by RuGeeks company and its research partners who share the results of own Internet research, allows to create a unique "Internet map of interests" by countries.

 

RuGeeks company collaborates with universities in Russia, UK, USA, Australia and Vietnam, identifying new patterns and trends in the global Internet space. The most interesting research results are published and regularly updated for free usage at www.rugeeks.com website.

Regularly watch for updates of this section at website, or subscribe for updates by e-mail in the form below.

Internet in the world

 

According to UN Broadband Commission, Internet penetration rate of 50% among global population still has not been reached in 2018. And even if the number of Internet users will grow at current pace (which is under a large question), a 100% penetration rate will still not be achieved within next 20 years.

Internet possibilities usage is currently heavily biased towards well-developed countries, while the largest lag in Internet development is observed in the poorest global regions. The map below shows distribution of Internet-connected devices, where red color marks zones with the maximum devices concentration.

Source: Shodan; World Economic Forum

Insufficient investments into network growth

Obviously, Internet population growth rate is insufficient. The Global Infrastructure Hub organisation, created under G20 initiative, has identified financing gap for Internet infrastructure development up to 2040 year at about $1 trillion US dollars.

 

In the meantime, during last 6 years international banks of development directed only 1% of their resources to resolve this problem, explaining that network building is an investment area of private companies - mobile operators.

GIX cloud as effective solution

Enhancing network coverage in remote regions is not attractive for network operators from investment point of view.

 

However, those infrastructure resources which are already present in the regions are enough to build economically effective cloud: due to shared economy principles, enhancing of regional coverage or gaining network capacity both do not need any investments.

 

Regions with underdeveloped Internet infrastructure become attractive to those network operators which install GIX software and benefit from its economic advantages.

Internet by countries

 

Short research memos by countries (6)

Partners

 

Analytical center

of sustainable development

and digital economy

Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter

Исследования Интернета

Компания RuGeeks ведет исследования Интернета в регионах присутствия, основываясь на фактической статистике пропуска трафика через свои сетевые узлы.

 

В процессе работы маршрутизаторов и узлов платформы GIX у нас накапливается огромное количество статистических данных о потреблении и передаче данных различного рода, включая статические страницы веб-сайтов, загрузки приложений и игр, просмотра видео и прямых ТВ-трансляций в Интернете.

 

Не нарушая приватность конечных пользователей, собранная информация агрегируется посредством алгоритмов больших данных (Big Data), теории нечетких множеств и прикладных методов "мягкой статистики".

 

Имеющаяся на текущий момент статистическая информация, собранная компанией RuGeeks и партнерами, предоставляющими данные о своих исследованиях, позволяет создать уникальную "карту интересов" Интернета по странам.

 

Компания RuGeeks сотрудничает с рядом университетов в России, Великобритании, США, Австралии и Вьетнаме, выявляя новые закономерности и тренды в глобальном Интернет-пространстве. Наиболее интересные результаты исследований компания RuGeeks публикует в открытом доступе.

Следите за обновлениями этого раздела на сайте RuGeeks.

Интернет в мире

 

По данным Комиссии ООН по широкополосной связи, показатель использования Интернета на уровне 50% населения в мире так и не был достигнут в 2018 году. И даже если мировой темп роста числа Интернет-пользователей сохранится на текущем уровне (что находится под большим вопросом), 100% проникновение Интернета не будет достигнуто еще в течение 20 лет.

Использование возможностей Интернет в мире в настоящее время сильно сконцентрировано в развитых странах, в то же время наибольшее отставание наблюдается в беднейших мировых регионах.  Данная карта показывает распределение числа подключенных к Интернету устройств, где красным цветом отмечены зоны максимальной концентрации устройств.

Источник: Shodan; World Economic Forum

Инвестиции в развитие сетей - недостаточны

Очевидно, что рост популяции Интернета недостаточно высок. Организация Global Infrastructure Hub, созданная по инициативе стран G20, идентифицировала недостаток финансирования развития Интернет-инфраструктуры до 2040 года примерно в $1 триллион долларов.

 

Вместе с тем, за последние 6 лет международные банки развития направили на решение этой проблемы всего 1% своих ресурсов, ссылаясь на то, что это область частных компаний - мобильных операторов.

Облако GIX - эффективное решение

Удаленные регионы малопривлекательны для операторов связи с точки зрения инвестиций в развитие сетей.

 

Однако тех ресурсов, которые уже имеются в регионах, достаточно для построения экономически эффективного облака: за счет экономики совместного использования увеличение регионального покрытия или наращивание сетевой емкости не требует инвестиций.

 

Благодаря решениям RuGeeks регионы с неразвитой Интернет-инфраструктурой становятся привлекательными для провайдеров.

Интернет по странам

 

Партнеры

 

Аналитический центр

Устойчивого развития и

цифровой экономики

Подпишитесь на наши новости
 

RuGeeks © 2014 - 2020

Наименования и логотоипы RuGeeks и GIX являются зарегистрированными товарными знаками компании RuGeeks