About Us

RuGeeks is technology company founded in 2015 by few professionals in telecommunications, IT technology and economics.

GIX (Global Infrastructure eXchange) is an innovative patented technology developed by RuGeeks engineers, which connects into cloud network any shared network devices owned by companies and private users, thereby transforming scattered partners' network infrastructure into a single powerful global cloud which is able to store, process and transmit a huge amount of information.

 

Mission and Values

Our mission

We see our mission in an evolutionary change of approach to information processing and delivery in the Internet, as well as approach revision for pricing of access to a shared information. By making a more direct connection between source of content and end consumers, we make information accessible in these places where people could not obtain it previously.  

Our vision

​Shared economy principles allow to decrease inequality in access to resources, and modern IT technologies will gradually allow to exchange more and more types of resources for more effective use: from financial capital to houses, cars, bicycles and electricity grids, and of course telecommunication and computing power. This is why behind the new infrastructure market which we create, we see the future of telecommunications.

Our values

We believe that globalisation means equality of all people in creation and consumption of information.

We also believe that ubiquitous and non-discriminatory accessibility of the most important informational and computational resources through Internet, as well as equal access to educational resources and telemedicine, helps to solve a set of world-scale problems: inequality and discrimination, poverty, unequal access to education and medicine.

 

GIX design principles

Right now more than 200 million devices are working and easily accessible over Internet, and 90% of these devices are not being used for a significant portion of time. *

 

Very conservative estimations show that only 30% of Internet-connected resources bring economic profit or other value to its owners, while other 70% of devices bring only losses due to costs of ownership and network connection costs.

Similar to network-connected devices utilisation, network carriers and its subscribers severely underutilise telecommunication channels, a spare outbound bandwidth of which can be utilised for meaningful purposes.

RuGeeks effectively engages these excess resources by converging an idea of shared economy, modern cloud technologies, and own patented data orchestration algorithms, providing satisfactory quality of Internet even at places where technology progress has not yet reached.

* Various estimations of Gartner, McKinsey (2017), and own RuGeeks research

30%

of devices

bring

value

70%

bring only costs

 

GIX® platform

GIX® platform (Global Infrastructure eXchange) unites scattered network infrastructure of companies, people and  network carriers into a single network – GIX® cloud ecosystem

 

GIX® technology is aimed to solve this complex task, being innovative for telecommunications industry, protected by patents, allows to create public and private networking clouds based on underutilised existing infrastructure, and allows to provide to customers various cloud services based on these clouds 

GIX® Cloud-on-demand service allows to quickly set up the traffic delivery network in particular geographical regions as needed by customers – in places where current or future clients and consumers are located

 

GIX® Cloud-on-Demand:

effective scaling

The common problem of all traditional clouds is expensive scaling

Expensive scaling is the root reason explaining why regions with underdeveloped Internet infrastructure are not attractive for content providers, and consumers located far from data centers get significantly lower service quality - this is "The Digital Divide" in action

Build a cost-efficient cloud based on GIX technology

  • By using Cloud-on-Demand service you shift initial infrastructure Capex costs onto third-party providers

  • Grow your regional coverage or enhance network bandwidth without additional investments

  • You pay only for the nodes which you really use, instead of paying for the whole network and for others

 Access to regions with GIX® CDN

 

Your regional coverage is unlimited, and end users outreach too

  • GIX network nodes can be located anywhere, only Internet connection is required

  • Multiple smaller GIX nodes distributed across the region effectively replace one powerful expensive server in the data center

  • Your regional delivery network is much more reliable due to high network redundancy

  • Patented traffic routing and balancing algorithms ensure the highest network coverage quality

Remote regions are now accessible for content

  • Neither high-bandwidth Internet is required for GIX nodes, nor high-power servers

  • A lot of lower-performance nodes are available and useful for GIX cloud at the "last mile" to consumers

  • The number of end users acting as consumers of services and advertisement in remote region is now unlimited with GIX, and such regions become attractive for content providers

The Digital Divide extermination

 

There are still many important global-scale problems existing in the world, including people inequality in access to goods and resources, unequal access to education and obstructed access to medicine in remote areas.

One of the tools helping to resolve these problems is ubiquitous and non-discriminative accessibility of the most important information resources through the Internet.

World Bank:

The problem of affordable mass accessibility of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) must become a heading agenda of development to pursue a decrease of digital inequality. The role of ICT is cornerstone in poverty fight, providing millions of people access to educational resources and supporting the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

Internet.org (Facebook) and Deloitte:

Internet is providing unprecedented opportunities for economic growth in the developing countries. By giving access to information, connecting people with businesses everywhere and opening new markets, Internet can change the whole meaning of economy and support development.

UNESCO:

Access to information and knowledge is a basic requirement for building inclusive Knowledge Societies with strong foundations for lasting peace and sustainable development.

During the last 10 years there were launched many infrastructure projects in the world to resolve Internet access problem, including laying optical cables, ubiquitous access to Wi-Fi and 3G/4G, and satellite connections with remote areas.

 

This is why the problem of digital inequality ("The Digital Divide") is now determined by not Internet access itself, but by equal accessibility of information and communication technologies (ICT) as well as media/content in all segments of society.

RuGeeks contribution

RuGeeks company effectively participates in Digital Divide extermination by applying its GIX cloud deployment technology in remote areas with less developed Internet infrastructure.

Who needs this exactly?

Digital inequality touches to some degree all people living beyond a limited number of prosperous countries and regions with well-developed Internet infrastructure and with relatively low social differentiation by income.

Digital inequality, unlike economic or social inequality, aggravates other forms of inequality: for example, people with low education level less often use Internet and this limits their opportunities for getting better education and improving quality of life. Improvement of Internet quality in the region provides benefits in multiple fields:

  • Economy: Accessible Internet provides more opportunities for economy growth due to new means of people access to the global mass market though electronic commerce, which creates new jobs and economic turnover ("The Taobao Villages phenomenon").

  • Education: Internet gives access to distant learning and knowledge sharing resources - from Wikipedia to online lectures of best universities.

  • Medicine: Besides that, modern telecommunication technologies allow to provide affordable remote medical assistance and consultations which are highly demanded in remote regions with poor infrastructure.

Online education

 

Online education is currently experiencing explosive growth in the world. Technologies already have significantly changed the global approach to education. According to World Economic Forum, about 77% of young people in the world have passed some online course.

Education for all:

Online education has helped many countries to substantially advance in “education for all”. Despite achieved progress in basic education, there is still large amount of people in many countries who do not have access to education. Internet access allows to resolve this problem.

Education for accelerated development:

Many developing countries currently reckon on the possibility of jump in development (“leapfrog”). A very significant role in achieving this is allotted to information and telecommunications technologies (ICT) and affordable mass secondary and high education, which is possible to adopt with remote education methods only.

Cases of RuGeeks projects in education:

Universities and colleges in Uzbekistan have only 60000 student places per year with about 1 million school graduates, and Uzbek government is considering affordable online education as the main way to overcome this limitation.

RuGeeks is doing development projects in Uzbekistan, partnering with local telecommunication operators and educational institutions.

Online education is one of priority activities at RuGeeks

Digital economy

 

RuGeeks is applying efforts to help with building of the new digital economy especially in the developing countries.

The Digital economy is sometimes called Internet economy.

Telstra, a leading Australian telecommunications provider, describes how competition will become more global and more intense as a result of the digital economy:

We now have a new generation of globally connected consumers and businesses who behave very differently – and we must all adapt to these changes and take advantage of the new opportunities.

The changes we are talking about are transformational. Everything, everyone and every place will be connected.

How the digital economy growth across the world regions can be in line with limited possibilities of infrastructure growth? RuGeeks has the answer.

Наименования и логотоипы RuGeeks и GIX являются зарегистрированными товарными знаками компании RuGeeks

О Компании

RuGeeks – российская технологическая компания, основанная в 2015 г. несколькими профессионалами в сфере телекоммуникаций, технологий и экономики.

Разработанная инженерами компании технология GIX (Global Infrastructure eXchange - глобальный обмен инфраструктурой) объединяет через Интернет в собственную сеть устройства любых компаний и частных пользователей, превращая тем самым массу разрозненных сетей и оборудования в огромную распределенную по всему миру сеть компьютеров, способную хранить, обрабатывать и передавать огромный объем информации.

 

Миссия и Ценности

Наша миссия

Наша миссия состоит в эволюционном изменении способа доставки и обработки информации в Интернете, и в пересмотре принципов формирования стоимости доступа к информации. Соединяя в нашей платформе источник контента с конечными потребителями, мы делаем информацию доступной там, где люди раньше ее не могли получить.  

Наше видение

​Принципы экономики совместного использования позволяют снизить неравенство в доступе к ресурсам, и благодаря ИТ-технологиям в будущем все больше видов ресурсов сможет быть эффективно использовано: от финансового капитала до домов, автомобилей и велосипедов, и, конечно, телекоммуникационных и вычислительных мощностей. Вот почему за новым рынком, который мы создаем, стоит будущее телекоммуникаций.

Наши ценности

Мы верим, что глобализация означает равенство всех людей на планете в производстве и потреблении информации.

Мы также верим, что повсеместная и недискриминационная доступность важнейших информационных и вычислительных ресурсов через сеть Интернет, а также доступ к образовательным ресурсам и телемедицине, помогает решить ряд глобальных современных проблем: неравенства и дискриминации, бедности, неравного доступа к образованию и медицине.

 

Принципы работы GIX

Прямо сейчас в мире работает 200 миллионов устройств, легко доступных для подключения через Интернет, и 90% из этих устройств не используются значительную часть времени. *

 

По самым осторожным оценкам, из всех устройств, подключенных к Интернет и задействованных для решения каких-либо задач, только 30% приносят какую-либо экономическую выгоду или иную пользу их владельцам, а остальные 70% устройств приносят владельцам лишь убытки от затрат на владение и сетевое подключение.

Аналогичным образом, операторами связи и их абонентами не до конца используются каналы связи, свободную исходящую пропускную мощность которых можно задействовать для полезных целей.

RuGeeks задействует эти избыточные ресурсы, соединяя идею экономики совместного использования, современные облачные технологии и собственные запатентованные алгоритмы доставки данных, обеспечивая приемлемое качество Интернета даже там, куда еще не добрался технический прогресс человечества.

* Различные оценки Gartner, McKinsey (2017) и собственные исследования RuGeeks

30%

устройств

приносят

пользу

70%

приносят убытки

 

Платформа GIX®

Платформа GIX® (Global Infrastructure eXchange) объединяет сетевую инфраструктуру различных компаний, людей и операторов связи в общую сеть – облачную экосистему GIX®

 

Технология GIX®, позволяющая решить эту сложную задачу, является инновационной для телеком-индустрии, защищена патентами, и позволяет создавать публичные и частные сети (облака) из недоиспользуемой уже существующей инфраструктуры, и предоставлять клиентам на базе созданной сети различные облачные сервисы

Сервис GIX® Cloud-on-demand (“облако по требованию”) позволяет быстро развернуть сеть именно в тех географических регионах, которые требуются заказчикам – там, где у заказчика находятся существующие или будущие клиенты

 

GIX® Cloud-on-Demand:

эффективное масштабирование

Проблема традиционных облачных решений - дорогое масштабирование

Из-за дорогого масштабирования регионы с неразвитой инфраструктурой Интернет являются коммерчески непривлекательными для провайдеров контента, а пользователи, расположенные далеко от ЦОДов, получают значительно худший сервис - это "цифровое неравенство" в действии

Постройте экономически эффективное облако вместе с RuGeeks

  • Пользуясь сервисом Cloud-on-Demand ("облако по требованию"), перекладывайте капитальные затраты (Capex) на сторонние компании

  • Увеличивайте региональное покрытие или наращивайте сетевую емкость без дополнительных инвестиций

  • Платите только за те узлы, которые сами используете, не платя за остальных

 Доступ в регионы с GIX® CDN

 

Ваше региональное покрытие ничем не ограничено

  • Узлы сети GIX могут располагаться где угодно, требуется лишь доступ к Интернет

  • Множество небольших узлов GIX, распределенное по региону, с успехом заменяет один мощный сервер в ЦОДе

  • У вашей региональной сети доставки гораздо более высокая надежность из-за многократной избыточности сети

  • Запатентованные алгоритмы маршрутизации и балансировки трафика обеспечивают высочайшее качество сетевого покрытия

Удаленные регионы теперь доступны для контента

  • Для узлов GIX не требуется ни широкополосного подключения, ни мощных серверов

  • На “последней миле” располагается очень много подходящих узлов для облака GIX

  • Число пользователей контента как потребителей сервисов и рекламы в удаленном регионе теперь не ограничено, и такие регионы становятся привлекательными для провайдеров контента

Ликвидация цифрового неравенства

 

К числу важнейших глобальных современных проблем относятся неравенство людей в доступе к благам и ресурсам, неравенство доступа к образованию и затрудненный доступ к медицине в удаленных районах.

Одним из инструментов, помогающих решить эти проблемы, является повсеместная и недискриминационная доступность важнейших информационных ресурсов через сеть Интернет.

Всемирный Банк:

Проблема ценовой массовой доступности инфокоммуникационных технологий (ИКТ) должна стать во главе повестки развития с целью уменьшения цифрового неравенства. Роль ИКТ является краеугольной в борьбе с бедностью, давая миллионам жителей доступ к образовательным ресурсам и поддерживая Цели Устойчивого Развития ООН.

Internet.org (Facebook) и Deloitte:

Интернет дает беспрецедентные возможности для экономического роста в развивающихся странах. Давая доступ к информации, соединяя людей с бизнесами повсеместно и открывая новые рынки, Интернет может изменить саму суть экономики и поддержать развитие.

UNESCO:

Доступ к информации и знаниям является основным условием построения инклюзивных обществ знаний с прочным фундаментом для долгосрочного мира и устойчивого развития

За последние 10 лет в мире запущено много инфраструктурных проектов для решения проблемы доступа в Интернет, включающих прокладку оптических кабелей, повсеместный доступ к сетям Wi-Fi и 3G/4G, а также спутниковые соединения с удаленными районами.

 

Поэтому данная проблема так называемого “цифрового неравенства” (The Digital Divide) определяется уже не столько самим доступом в Интернет, сколько равной доступностью инфокоммуникационных технологий (ИКТ) и медиа/контента во всех сегментах общества.

Вклад RuGeeks 

Благодаря технологии развертывания облака GIX в удаленных регионах с менее развитой инфраструктурой Интернет, компания RuGeeks эффективно участвует в ликвидации цифрового неравенства.

Кому это нужно?

Цифровое неравенство затрагивает всех людей, проживающих за пределами крайне ограниченного числа благополучных стран и регионов с развитой инфраструктурой Интернет и низким уровнем социального расслоения.

Цифровое неравенство, в отличие от экономического, усугубляет прочие формы неравенства: например, люди с низким уровнем образования реже пользуются сетью Интернет, что ограничивает их возможности в получении более высокого уровня образования и улучшении качества жизни. Улучшение качества Интернета в регионе дает одновременное улучшение сразу во многих сферах:

  • Экономика: Доступный Интернет дает больше возможностей для роста экономики благодаря новым возможностям доступа людей к глобальному массовому рынку через электронную коммерцию.

  • Образование: Также становятся более доступны дистанционные образовательные и познавательные ресурсы - от Википедии до университетских онлайн-лекций.

  • Медицина: Помимо этого, современные технологии позволяют оказывать удаленную доступную медицинскую помощь и консультации, востребованные в проблемных и удаленных регионах.

Онлайн-образование

 

Онлайн-образование в мире в настоящее время претерпевает бурный рост. Технологии уже достаточно сильно изменили глобальный подход к образованию. По данным Всемирного Экономического Форума, около 77% молодежи по всему миру хотя бы раз проходили какие-либо онлайн-курсы.

Образование для всех:

Онлайн-образование помогло многим странам существенно продвинуться в вопросе более доступного “образования для всех”. Несмотря на достигнутый прогресс в базовом образовании, во многих странах до сих пор остается большое количество людей без доступа к образованию. Интернет позволяет решить эту проблему.

Образование для опережающего развития:

Многие развивающиеся страны в настоящее время рассчитывают на скачок в развитии (“leapfrog”). Значительная роль в этом отводится ИТ-технологиям и доступному массовому высшему и среднему образованию мирового уровня, которое возможно внедрить лишь с помощью дистанционных методов обучения.

Примеры проектов RuGeeks в образовании:

В Узбекистане в 2019 году на 1 млн. выпускников школ всего 60 тысяч мест в ВУЗах, и в качестве главного способа преодоления этого разрыва правительством рассматривается доступное онлайн-образование.

РуГикс ведет работы в Узбекистане, сотрудничая с местными телекоммуникационными операторами и образовательными учреждениями.

Онлайн-образование - одно из приоритетных направлений деятельности RuGeeks

Цифровая экономика

 

Распоряжением от 28.07.2017 г. № 1632-р, Правительство Российской Федерации утвердило программу «Цифровая экономика».

Среди основных планируемых результатов программы:

  • Сети связи удовлетворяют потребности экономики по сбору и передаче данных граждан, бизнеса и власти с учетом технических требований, предъявляемых цифровыми технологиями (веха номер 4);

  • Обеспечены единство, устойчивость и безопасность информационно-телекоммуникационной инфраструктуры Российской Федерации на всех уровнях информационного пространства (веха номер 5).

RuGeeks является участником рабочих групп АНО "Цифровая экономика" и постоянным членом Совета по развитию информационных технологий и цифровой экономики при Торгово-промышленной палате Российской Федерации.